What a Tangled Web We Weave – Spiderweb Block Tutorial

BLOGTOBERFEST, Day 31

Today is the last day of Blogtoberfest, and my day on the Wicked Blog Hop.  Also joining in on Bloggers Quilt Festival with this fun Halloween quilt!

My “wicked” quilt block is the spiderweb block used to make my What a Tangled Web We Weave quilt, which received an honorable mention in the Des Moines Area Quilters Guild show this October.

The finished size of the quilt is Twin Size, and it takes 20 spiderweb blocks.  Here it is spread out on our Queen Size bed:

To make the blocks:

  •  Cut randomly sized strips of fabric across grain by width of fabric (wof) and sew into strip sets at least 6 1/2 ” wide.  (for one block you will need 1 or 2 strip sets, for the Twin size quilt you will need 18-20 strip sets)
  • Using a 60-degree ruler, cut alternating triangles from your strips sets in this fashion:

  • From background fabric, cut one 5 7/8″ square, cut in half diagonally into two half-square B triangles.
  • Also, from background fabric cut two A template pieces, and two Ar (A-Reverse) template pieces.  Template is provided here: SpiderwebTemplate
  • Add a B triangle to the flat end of two of your strip wedges, and add two A triangles and two Ar triangles to the flat ends of your other strip wedges like this:
  • Sew three wedge pieces together to create half a block; repeat:
  • Join your two half block pieces together and then square your block:

I fussy cut the inner border from a stripe fabric, it reads “Halloween” over and over…

And the outer border is an Alexander Henry fabric (from 2006, I think) called “Halloween Lane”.  And the backing is another fun Alexander Henry print called “Unhappy Hour”…

Trina’s long arm quilting made the quilt…the spider web details are fantastic, and I adore the cluster of spiders in the square areas of the background:

Thanks for stopping, I’d love to hear your comments on my quilt… and please go pay a visit to these Wicked Bloggers and see what they have to share today:

68 thoughts on “What a Tangled Web We Weave – Spiderweb Block Tutorial

  1. I have never seen a hexagonal spiderweb block before! Great tutorial. And your quilt is very cute. I love that you get both squares and stars in the background…

    PS. I don’t have LinkedIn but thanks for the invite! 🙂

  2. Love your quilt. It is to late for me to do one for Halloween but I am going to pull out other scraps and use this pattern. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Thank you for the block pattern … spooky with all those orange and black fabrics!! You and Trina make a great team. Continued good luck!

  4. SInce you already won a big approval on that quilt, you probably don’t need another compliment. ……….No, sorry. I have to. What an amazing quilt. It looks absolutely beautiful. Thank you for the tutorial.

  5. VERY, very nice I especially like that it’s WICKED halloween fabrics. The border was a great choice, is halloweenie but still keeps your eyes looking at all the hexie spider webs !!! And a great tutorial on the spider web blocks too. I have avoided these sidper web quilts but to see it done your way I may just tackle one.

  6. This is one of my favorite rulers — but I’ve never used it with strings before — your blocks are *darling*! Great job — thanks for sharing the inspiration with us!!! 🙂

  7. Doris ~ I LOVE this quilt!!! Such a fun design for Halloween. I may have to try this next year. I hope you have been enjoying one of your favorite holidays 😉 Hugs to you, my friend !!

  8. Love your quilt! As soon as I see that I have to use degrees to cut anything my eyes glaze over….it looks WAY too hard! (But you make it look easy. oh, tempting!)

  9. I’ve always liked the Spider Web quilt design, and it’s just too perfect as you’ve made it for Halloween. The quilting is the icing on a great top. I’m not a bit surprised that you received an honorable mention for this one. Way to go!

  10. Pingback: Looking forward… | made by a brunnette

  11. Pingback: Time to make a baby quilt – My Patchwork Home

Let me know what you have to say on the subject....